View Full Version : Actual Time being served on California prison sentences?

waiting&waiting
11-05-2005, 04:57 PM
I'm new to all this, but what is the actual time being served on sentences? My fiancee was sentenced to 2 years. He was sentenced on 10/4 and was given credit for 104 days served. He is currently at reception at NKSP.

My questions are:

1. How much of his sentence will he most likely serve?
2. When will he know his release date?

Thanks for all your help!! :o

Bubsmom
11-06-2005, 12:33 AM
Scroll down the page to second sticky. that should help you calculate. Remember, if time is discounted ie 35%, 50%, that won't start until he arrives at Reception. Any time served after court will apply to credit. Hope this helps. I posted a better reply earlier but it got lost somehow. Good luck.

v45200
11-10-2005, 06:14 PM
hello,

it depends if it was for a violent offense, and/or if he has a previous strike. if it was nonviolent and has no strike then he will get halftime (do 50% of his sentence). since he has 104 days credit, this is how you calculate it:

730 days (2 years)
-104 (credit)
= 626
626/2 =313 days

he will then get out around august 2006.

as for the 35% i hear that it only applies to firecamp, but that is also a rumour, not really sure.

-chris

Strasse
11-10-2005, 08:01 PM
The 50% only applies once he starts a full-time program (Work Group A). All good-time credits accrue only when programming.

Firecamp earns two days for a day.
Regular full-program earns a day for a day.

If it's a violent offense, the most that can be accrued is 15%, the least he'll serve is 85% of his remaining.

If there was a prior felony conviction, he'll serve 80% minimum, regardless.

All this is in the CCRs (title 15) and Penal Code.

While he's in reception he'll get a calculation sheet showing minimum release date, his "max" date, and his current estimated release date...

v45200
11-10-2005, 08:05 PM