View Full Version : Questions about Interstate Compact

DovKille
03-14-2007, 04:24 AM
Bonjour,

My name is Jeremy. I am a Lutheran seminarian. I am new to this Prison Talk forum. I have a best friend who is incarcerated in Kentucky for drug offenses. He will have his parole hearing coming up in May. He is a young decent man who acknowledged his wrongdoings. He has accepted full responsibility and remores for his action. He admitted his guilt to me when I traveled to Kentucky and visited him in prison.

Last week he asked his institutional parole officer to send his Interstate Compact application to North Dakota where I reside. His institutional parole officer told him that he might not live in Florida where his parents live because of the retirement homes which is not considered suitable. His sister lives in Michigan, but the unfortunate problem is his sister still using illegal drugs. He is not allowed to associate with people who use illegal drugs. To the conclusion, I am his last resort. However, I am very willing to provide him housing, transportation, finanical help, meals and emotional & spiritual support.

To my understanding, his Interstate Compact case is discretionary since he and I are not related. How much chance would he see his request getting approved? Is it possible for a parolee to live with his friend who is not related to him? Should I contact the Interstate Compact office in Bismarck, ND regarding the concerns?

lilgirlblue
03-14-2007, 06:26 AM
people are often released to non relatives ..ie..girlfriends, boyfriends etc But I am not sure how the interstate compact works. Alot depends on there probation. You may have some insight by contacting his counselor at his current facility. They are the ones that help set up the release plan etc. Best of Luck to you and your friend and God Bless you both

JamiesGirl06
03-14-2007, 08:00 AM