View Full Version : "Good Time" for inmates...new law?

harlequin10
05-16-2009, 10:32 AM
My boyfriends has a little over a year left till he comes home to me and he mentioned that there was a new law passed for inmates that allow them "good time" for flat time sentences if it's their first offense and are taking classes for improvement. I've been doing research on the web to find this law and find out what I need to do to get him home to me ASAP! We'd like to start our lives together and even though he doesn't have much time left in prison, every month... every day... every minute counts. He's been taking classes for the past six months, so that should earn him something right???!!?:idea:

I'm new to Prison Talk and it seemed like the easiest ways to get some answers and some guidance. If anyone has any information for me please let me know! Thanks!

robslove30
05-22-2009, 08:38 PM
the same kind of thing is being discussed in Iowa, but no one really seems to have any concrete information. Wish I could provide more information for you!

titiqueen4eva
05-23-2009, 08:24 PM
Is he in state or fed

cyr2002
05-26-2009, 06:35 PM
i wanna know the same thing i heard is something that past some years ago in NY. i think its called the rockerfeller law. or drug law something i googled it and ithink its wat u are talking about. as far as what i understood it allows inmates in prisons with GOOD behaivor and no prior felony convictions to have their sentences revoked (cleared or ended)
or their sentences reduced. This will also allow illigals to be deported.