View Full Version : Public Information Officers (PIO) Adult Institutions


Madhatter
07-17-2009, 11:13 AM
I thought this might be helpful for people trying to get information from the individual prisons. If I posted in the wrong place, please put it where it needs to go Mods.

Adult Institutions Public Information Officers

Avenal State Prison, Avenal
Doug Snell, Lt.
(559) 386-0587 ext. 5028
douglas.snell@cdcr.ca.gov
Correctional Training Facility, Soledad
Gary Gilman, Lt.
(831) 678-5952
gary.gilman@cdcr.ca.gov
California Correctional Center, Susanville
Steve David, Lt.
(530) 257-2181 ext. 4110
Steve.David@cdcr.ca.gov
Deuel Vocational Institution, Tracy
Gilbert Valenzuela, Lt.
(209) 830-3851
gilbert.valenzuela@cdcr.ca.gov
California Correctional Institution, Tehachapi
Jon Bartelmie, Lt.
(661) 822-4402 ext. 3021
Jon.Bartelmie@cdcr.ca.gov (jon.bartelmie@cdcr.ca.gov)
Folsom State Prison, Folsom
Anthony Gentile, Lt.
(916) 351-3016
anthony.gentile@cdcr.ca.gov
California Institution for Men, Chino
Mark Hargrove
(909) 606-7068
Mark.Hargrove@cdcr.ca.gov
High Desert State Prison, Susanville
John Boitano
(530) 251-5100 ext. 5501
john.boitano@cdcr.ca.gov
California Institution for Women, Corona
Robert Patterson, Lt.
(909) 606-4921
robert.patterson@cdcr.ca.gov
Ironwood State Prison, Blythe
Mike Alonzo, Lt.
(760) 921-4382
Michael.Alonzo@cdcr.ca.gov
California Medical Facility, Vacaville
Mary Brewer, Lt.
(707) 449-6509
mary.brewer@cdcr.ca.gov
Kern Valley State Prison, Delano
Xavier Cano, Lt.
(661) 721-6314
Xavier.Cano@cdcr.ca.gov
California Menís Colony, San Luis Obispo
Dean Spears, Lt.
(805) 547-7948
j.dean.spears@cdcr.ca.gov
Mule Creek State Prison, Ione
Michelle Hamilton
(209) 274-5080
Michelle.Hamilton@cdcr.ca.gov
California Rehabilitation Center, Norco
Brian Davis, Lt.
(951) 273-2920
Brian.Davis2@cdcr.ca.gov (brian.davis2@cdcr.ca.gov)
North Kern State Prison, Delano
Patrice Davis, Lt.
(661) 721-2345 ext. 5006
patrice.davis@cdcr.ca.gov
California State Prison-Los Angeles, Lancaster
George Allen, Lt.
(661) 729-6912
George.Allen@cdcr.ca.gov
Pelican Bay State Prison, Crescent City
Ken Thomas, Lt.
(707) 465-9040
Ken.Thomas@cdcr.ca.gov
California State Prison-Sacramento
Judy Loer, Lt.
(916) 294-3012
Judy.Loer@cdcr.ca.gov
Pleasant Valley State Prison, Coalinga
Aaron Shimmin, Lt.
(559) 935-4972
aaron.shimmin@cdcr.ca.gov
California State Prison-Solano, Vacaville
Cicely Burnett, Lt.
(707) 454-3257
cicely.burnett@cdcr.ca.gov
RJ Donovan Correctional Facility, San Diego
Michael Stout, Lt.
(619) 661-7802
michael.stout@cdcr.ca.gov
California Substance Abuse Treatment Facility and State Prison, Corcoran
Stephen Smith, Lt.
(559) 992-7154
stephen.smith@cdcr.ca.gov
San Quentin State Prison
Samuel Robinson, Lt.
(415) 455-5008
samuel.robinson@cdcr.ca.gov
Calipatria State Prison, Calipatria
Shawn McLinn, Lt.
(760) 348-6002
Shawn.McLinn@cdcr.ca.gov
Salinas Valley State Prison, Soledad
Eric Moore, Lt.
(831) 678-5554
eric.moore@cdcr.ca.gov
Centinela State Prison, Imperial
Richard Dubbe, Lt.
(760) 337-7601
Richard.Dubbe@cdcr.ca.gov
Sierra Conservation Center, Jamestown
Kevin Wise, Lt.
(209) 984-5291 ext. 5499
Kevin.Wise@cdcr.ca.gov
Central California Womenís Facility, Chowchilla
Bart Fortner, CCII
(559) 665-6002
bart.fortner@cdcr.ca.gov
Valley State Prison For Women,
Chowchilla
Bryan McCraw, Lt.
(559) 665-6161
bryan.mccraw@cdcr.ca.gov
Chuckawalla Valley State Prison, Blythe
Richard Smith, Lt.
(760) 922-9710
Richard.Smith@cdcr.ca.gov
Wasco State Prison, Wasco
Brian Kibler
(661) 758-7029
Brian.Kibler@cdcr.ca.gov
Corcoran State Prison, Corcoran
Irma Decker, Lt.
(559) 992-6104
Irma.Decker@cdcr.ca.gov
Conservation Camp Program
Ray Harrington, Capt.
(916) 324-2758
ray.harrington@cdcr.ca.gov

California Out-of-State Correctional Facilities
Ralph Jackson, Lt.
(916) 464-3910
ralph.jackson@cdcr.ca.gov

PTO-110524
07-17-2009, 12:07 PM
The PIO List changes often as staff changes occur. The current PIO List is always published on the CDCr Website.

Click Here for current Adult Institutions PIO List (http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/News/Adult_Institution_PIO_Lists.html) :thumbsup:

mrs.grumps
07-17-2009, 01:46 PM
What does a Public Information Officers do? :confused:

Madhatter
07-17-2009, 01:59 PM
What does a Public Information Officers do? :confused:


I haven't seen their job description, but I would imagine they deal with public inquiries regarding the prison. I have bugged Mule Creek so much, custody has been told that any inquiries regarding my son should be turned over to their public information officer. But his counselor will absolutely NOT talk to me LOL

kima
07-17-2009, 03:54 PM
Information Officer “Under direction, to perform the more difficult professional and technical tasks associated with the conduct of a comprehensive program to inform the public of the activities and objectives of a State agency; and to do other related work.”

I believe they must rank as a lieutenant or parole agent III to qualify for this position.

PIO of the year...
Ms. Terry Thornton was named PIO of the Year for outstanding achievement in public information service to the State of California and to the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR). Terry is widely respected as one of the most experienced public information officers at CDCR, and is arguably one of the busiest spokeswomen in the state. She
is the lead PIO who handles and directs media responses to issues dealing with CDCR’s most high-profile unit, the Division of Adult Institutions (the prison system).
Terry fields hundreds of calls every month from state, national and international media, as well as overseeing media responses by public information officers at 33 state prisons.
http://www.ca-sioc.org/news_releases/2009-05-14_AWARDS_RELEASE.PDF