Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > U.S. REGIONAL FORUMS > TEXAS > Texas Member Introductions & Lone Star Lounge
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Texas Member Introductions & Lone Star Lounge Please post your introduction here if you are involved with the Texas prison & criminal justice system, and join in non-prison related conversations with other people from your state.

Old 02-25-2007, 11:19 AM
Bubba's Mom

Wink I'm a Newbie!

Hi ya'll! I'm new at this and just wanted to introduce myself and my Son!
My Son {Bubba} has a 4 year term for failure to appear. He is 20 years old and was in the Middleton Unit for a couple of weeks and just got transferred to the Lindsey Unit in Jacksboro, Tx. My name is Penny and I'm a Mother of 3 and Grandma of 2 and I will have lots of questions for you!
1} Why do they keep getting transferred?
2} He goes before Parole in April this year, does that mean he is getting out earlier?
3} When he does get out, we live in Mesquite which is Dallas County, where do we go to see his Parole Officer? How many times a week or month does he see him? And does he pay him each time he goes?
4} Everyone does a background check these days so where is he suppose to work? I heard even DQ does one now!
5} We are moving back to East Texas soon, will we still have to come to Dallas to see a Parole Officer or how does that work?

Ok thats it for now, but I still have a lot more questions for later. Thanks for reading and I hope some one can help me on here.
Old 02-25-2007, 11:57 AM
Here we go again...
Donation Award 

Hi Penny, Welcome to PTO.
My fiance is in California, but some of this stuff is standard across the board, so I'll help where I can.
Transfers happen for a number of reasons; bed space, depending on his level (1-4), if he's been in trouble at one facility he'll get transferred to another, etc.