Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!






Go Back   Prison Talk > U.S. REGIONAL FORUMS > ARKANSAS > Arkansas Prison & Jail – Visitation, Phones, Packages & Mail
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Arkansas Prison & Jail – Visitation, Phones, Packages & Mail Topics / Information relating to the Arkansas Department of Corrections and local & county Jail visitation, phone calls, mail, inmate care packages, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 10-01-2008, 01:23 PM
JJT's Avatar
JJT JJT is offline
Registered User
Donation Award 
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: I am from all over the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 20,970
Thanks: 146
Thanked 537 Times in 339 Posts
Default

Work Assignments

Do inmates work?

Yes. All inmates work unless there is a severe security or medical concern. Based in part on their medical classification, inmates are assigned jobs. Failure to work will result in disciplinary action. An inmate is not automatically excluded from receiving a work assignment because of a handicap or disability.

How are inmates assigned to these jobs?

New inmates spend a minimum of 60 days working on a hoe squad. After successfully completing this initial work assignment, inmates become eligible for different jobs. Job assignments depend on a variety of factors such as type of crime, behavior, classification, job availability, institutional needs, medical classification, security concerns and the skill level of the inmate. The Unit Classification Committee determines work assignments.

What kinds of work do they do?

Job assignments vary. Some inmates work inside the institutions as porters and clerks. Others work in food services, laundry and maintenance. Outside jobs include lawn crew, field utility and Regional Maintenance. Work assignments are also available in agriculture, industry, and construction.

Can I pay somebody to get a better work assignment for an inmate?

No. It is against the law to sell inmate work assignments. If anyone offers to sell a work assignment, report it immediately to the warden of the unit or to the Internal Affairs division of the central office.

If an inmate has job skills, who should be told about them?

The inmate should tell intake personnel or the Unit Classification Committee about any job skills that he or she possesses.

Do inmates work when it’s very cold or very hot outside?

If the temperature is very cold, outside work might be limited to only essential duties such as feeding livestock or making necessary repairs. When the temperature is very hot, water breaks are increased and work hours are adjusted for some outside crews to avoid the hottest part of the day. New inmates go through a two-week adjustment period that allows them to gradually get used to the heat.

What is the Work Release Program?

In the Work Release Program, inmates are housed in correctional facilities and they hold paid jobs in the community. From the wages they earn, the inmates partially reimburse the state for their care and custody. Work Release inmates must be Class I-A, and no more than 30 months from their release or parole eligibility date. Because of their crimes, many inmates are ineligible for the program.

What is the 309 Program?

Under the Act 309 Program, eligible ADC inmates are housed in certain county or city jails for work purposes. Participating counties and cities request inmates by skill and the inmates are not paid for their work. Eligibility requirements include a good disciplinary record, at least six months in the ADC system after initial assignment and no convictions for capital murder, first degree murder, sexual offenses or stalking. If the inmate is more than 30 months from parole eligibility, the sheriff or chief of police in the county of conviction must approve the inmate’s participation in the program.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #27  
Old 10-01-2008, 01:24 PM
JJT's Avatar
JJT JJT is offline
Registered User
Donation Award 
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: I am from all over the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 20,970
Thanks: 146
Thanked 537 Times in 339 Posts
Default

Parole

What is parole or transfer?

Parole or transfer is early release from incarceration that is supervised and conditional. Since parole is a privilege and not a right, it may carry several conditions such as substance abuse treatment, drug screenings, electronic monitoring, counseling and maintaining a job. If the conditions of release are not met or if the offender fails to follow the reporting schedule, parole can be revoked and the offender can be sent back to prison.

Before being released on parole, an offender can be required by the Board of Parole to complete certain ADC programming such as substance abuse treatment, academic education, vocational education or the Reduction of Sexual Victimization Program.

Who is eligible for parole/transfer?

All inmates, except those sentenced to life, life without parole, or death, will be eligible for parole/transfer at some point. Their eligibility date will depend on state laws concerning the crime, the sentence and good time. The inmate’s eligibility date can change because of disciplinary action or additional convictions.

Do inmates have to pay to get a parole or transfer eligibility date?

No. The Arkansas Department of Correction automatically calculates parole/transfer eligibility dates. No fee is charged.

Who decides which inmates are released on parole?

Board of Parole hearings are held monthly at each unit.

What is the EPA?

The Emergency Powers Act gives the Board of Corrections the authority to declare a prison-overcrowding emergency and to move parole/transfer eligibility dates forward by up to 90 days for eligible inmates. Even if the EPA is in effect, the inmates still must be granted parole by the Board of Parole.

Does the Arkansas Department of Correction supervise parolees/transfers?

No. Parolees/transfers are supervised by the Arkansas Department of Community Correction.

How can an inmate get more information on parole?
Information on parole is available in the Inmate Handbook or from the Institutional Parole Officer at the inmate’s unit. Inmates can review state laws governing parole at their unit’s law library.
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to JJT For This Useful Post:
adbaby (11-03-2008), ahorn01 (08-24-2011), EddiesBaby (05-16-2009), meme22 (04-15-2009)
  #28  
Old 10-23-2008, 08:25 PM
Infinityandbeyond's Avatar
Infinityandbeyond Infinityandbeyond is offline
Registered User
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri USA
Posts: 919
Thanks: 378
Thanked 185 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Which prison(s) in Ark. offer the RSVP program for SO's?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-24-2008, 09:53 AM
sandtrob's Avatar
sandtrob sandtrob is offline
Registered User
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 150
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Ouachita River Unit in Malvern
__________________
"The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still." Exodus 14:14









Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sandtrob For This Useful Post:
Infinityandbeyond (10-24-2008)
  #30  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:20 AM
Mama C Mama C is offline
Registered User
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 48
Thanks: 25
Thanked 79 Times in 23 Posts
Default Quiestion about intake

When my son is taken for intake will he be allowd to take money to open a trust acount and phone account?
__________________
Mama C

Except by Gods Grace, there go I




Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-29-2011, 10:42 AM
BrokenN2pieces's Avatar
BrokenN2pieces BrokenN2pieces is offline
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default I dont understand why my fiances class 1 is messed upped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJT View Post
Classification of Inmates and Transfers

Which criteria are used to determine where an inmate is housed?

After intake, inmates are transferred to a parent unit for their initial assignment. Male inmates are assigned to the Varner, Cummins, East Arkansas, Grimes or Tucker Units. The parent unit for females is McPherson Unit at Newport.

Exceptions for initial assignments may be made for Boot Camp, health reasons or security concerns. Initial assignments last for a minimum of 60 days. Behavior, bed space, job availability and institutional needs dictate future assignments.

What is Boot Camp?

Boot Camp is a 105-day, behavior modification program located at the Wrightsville Unit. It is based on discipline, academic education and substance abuse education. Participation is limited to first time offenders with a sentence of ten years or less for nonviolent and nonsexual crimes. Inmates must volunteer to participate in the military-style program and they must be medically able to meet its stringent program requirements.

Can inmates be transferred if family members cannot visit due to distance?

No. Visitation is not a factor used in determining where an inmate is housed. Unfortunately, the department doesn’t have the resources to honor this type of request. Any inmate can request a transfer, but the decision to transfer someone is based on bed space availability, institutional needs and other factors. Sometimes transfers result in easier visitation situations and sometimes they don’t.

How are inmates classified and what are the different types of classification?

Inmates are classified in three ways: custody, classification, good time earning classification and medical classification. Custody classification is the result of scoring established criteria including crime, length of sentence, disciplinary record, prior violence, escape history and various other factors that determine risk to the public and risk within the institution. This classification may limit the facilities to which an inmate can be assigned.

Good time classification places inmates in Class I, II, III, or IV status. Class I earns 30 days additional good time credit per month (for example, after 30 days in Class I status, the inmate has 60 days credit); Class II earns 20 days additional credit per month; Class III earns 10 days additional credit per month; and Class IV does not earn any good time. An inmate being held in a city or county jail awaiting transfer to the Department of Correction can be awarded good time at a Class II level.

Class status is not automatic. All inmates are placed in Class II status when they arrive at the department. It is up to them to earn Class I status, and their class can be reduced because of disciplinary problems. Promotions in class status are handled by the Unit Classification Committee, which makes the decisions based on past and current behavior and on recommendations from an inmate’s work supervisor and/or other staff. This same committee may also make decisions regarding an inmate’s classification in protective custody or administrative segregation.

Health care professionals determine an inmate’s medical classification. It is one of the factors used to determine an inmate’s work assignment.

How long can an inmate be housed in administrative segregation?

Indefinitely, but the inmate will be reviewed periodically to determine if administrative segregation remains appropriate.

Any time good time is earned or restored, it is applied in its entirety as a credit towards completion of your sentence. These dates are projected based on your present class and the assumption that you will remain in that class and earn good time at the same rate until you reach that date.
Restoration of good time affects the change in dates based on your class at the time of restoration. Example: If you are in class I and he is status and you have 30 days restored it will move or TE date by 15 days. If you receive 30 days restoration, it puts you 15 days closet to your TE date.
There are two exceptions to this
1. If you are past your TE date, restoration of good time will not move your release date.
2. Restoration of good time will only move your release dates until you have reached the maximum amount of good time allowed.
This is the letter my fiance recently recieved From the Records Supervisor. He was getting the 30/60 then he got into trouble dec. 26,2009 and they added five more years to his TE date. After six months of good time and earning his class I status back the 5 years were removed and he appealed the year taken away from him and he only got 6 months of that back. and now he received this letter about the classification. How can this be fair? He is a first time offender and has not been in any more trouble since the one incident. Please help me understand this so I can help him understand this.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:28 PM
besties4life's Avatar
besties4life besties4life is offline
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Just passing thru
Posts: 42
Thanks: 100
Thanked 24 Times in 9 Posts
Exclamation Classification

What are the differences/advantages of Class IA vs. Class IB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJT View Post
Classification of Inmates and Transfers

Which criteria are used to determine where an inmate is housed?

After intake, inmates are transferred to a parent unit for their initial assignment. Male inmates are assigned to the Varner, Cummins, East Arkansas, Grimes or Tucker Units. The parent unit for females is McPherson Unit at Newport.

Exceptions for initial assignments may be made for Boot Camp, health reasons or security concerns. Initial assignments last for a minimum of 60 days. Behavior, bed space, job availability and institutional needs dictate future assignments.

What is Boot Camp?

Boot Camp is a 105-day, behavior modification program located at the Wrightsville Unit. It is based on discipline, academic education and substance abuse education. Participation is limited to first time offenders with a sentence of ten years or less for nonviolent and nonsexual crimes. Inmates must volunteer to participate in the military-style program and they must be medically able to meet its stringent program requirements.

Can inmates be transferred if family members cannot visit due to distance?

No. Visitation is not a factor used in determining where an inmate is housed. Unfortunately, the department doesn’t have the resources to honor this type of request. Any inmate can request a transfer, but the decision to transfer someone is based on bed space availability, institutional needs and other factors. Sometimes transfers result in easier visitation situations and sometimes they don’t.

How are inmates classified and what are the different types of classification?

Inmates are classified in three ways: custody, classification, good time earning classification and medical classification. Custody classification is the result of scoring established criteria including crime, length of sentence, disciplinary record, prior violence, escape history and various other factors that determine risk to the public and risk within the institution. This classification may limit the facilities to which an inmate can be assigned.

Good time classification places inmates in Class I, II, III, or IV status. Class I earns 30 days additional good time credit per month (for example, after 30 days in Class I status, the inmate has 60 days credit); Class II earns 20 days additional credit per month; Class III earns 10 days additional credit per month; and Class IV does not earn any good time. An inmate being held in a city or county jail awaiting transfer to the Department of Correction can be awarded good time at a Class II level.

Class status is not automatic. All inmates are placed in Class II status when they arrive at the department. It is up to them to earn Class I status, and their class can be reduced because of disciplinary problems. Promotions in class status are handled by the Unit Classification Committee, which makes the decisions based on past and current behavior and on recommendations from an inmate’s work supervisor and/or other staff. This same committee may also make decisions regarding an inmate’s classification in protective custody or administrative segregation.

Health care professionals determine an inmate’s medical classification. It is one of the factors used to determine an inmate’s work assignment.

How long can an inmate be housed in administrative segregation?

Indefinitely, but the inmate will be reviewed periodically to determine if administrative segregation remains appropriate.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-08-2011, 07:38 AM
lizzybell1979's Avatar
lizzybell1979 lizzybell1979 is offline
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Benton County, AR
Posts: 189
Thanks: 12
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
Default

There is no big difference except you can be on work release and go to a free world job as a 1A, also you can get furloughs. No more time off or anything like that
__________________
God Bless
Angie
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-17-2016, 07:10 AM
IzzyLouWho's Avatar
IzzyLouWho IzzyLouWho is offline
Mischief Makin' Moderator

Staff Superstar Winner PTO Moderator 

 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,845
Thanks: 852
Thanked 2,754 Times in 1,418 Posts
Default

Since the original post is from 2008, I wanted to share the updated Friends and Family Handbook.

If you are new to the Arkansas DOC, this is full of information you will need.
__________________
Angela
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-09-2017, 07:01 PM
TheMizzCrystal TheMizzCrystal is offline
Registered User
 

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Help delta regional unit!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJT View Post
Parole

What is parole or transfer?

Parole or transfer is early release from incarceration that is supervised and conditional. Since parole is a privilege and not a right, it may carry several conditions such as substance abuse treatment, drug screenings, electronic monitoring, counseling and maintaining a job. If the conditions of release are not met or if the offender fails to follow the reporting schedule, parole can be revoked and the offender can be sent back to prison.

Before being released on parole, an offender can be required by the Board of Parole to complete certain ADC programming such as substance abuse treatment, academic education, vocational education or the Reduction of Sexual Victimization Program.

Who is eligible for parole/transfer?

All inmates, except those sentenced to life, life without parole, or death, will be eligible for parole/transfer at some point. Their eligibility date will depend on state laws concerning the crime, the sentence and good time. The inmate’s eligibility date can change because of disciplinary action or additional convictions.

Do inmates have to pay to get a parole or transfer eligibility date?

No. The Arkansas Department of Correction automatically calculates parole/transfer eligibility dates. No fee is charged.

Who decides which inmates are released on parole?

Board of Parole hearings are held monthly at each unit.

What is the EPA?

The Emergency Powers Act gives the Board of Corrections the authority to declare a prison-overcrowding emergency and to move parole/transfer eligibility dates forward by up to 90 days for eligible inmates. Even if the EPA is in effect, the inmates still must be granted parole by the Board of Parole.

Does the Arkansas Department of Correction supervise parolees/transfers?

No. Parolees/transfers are supervised by the Arkansas Department of Community Correction.

How can an inmate get more information on parole?
Information on parole is available in the Inmate Handbook or from the Institutional Parole Officer at the inmate’s unit. Inmates can review state laws governing parole at their unit’s law library.
PE / TE Date SHOWS 02/04/2017 AN MY COUSIN IS SUPPOSED TO HAVE A VIDEO HEARING WITH THE PAROLE BOARD. I LOOKED AT THEIR ONLINE SCHEDULE AND THEY DONT SHOW THAT THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO MEET WITH DELTA REGIONAL UNIT AT ALL FOR THIS MONTH WHICH IS THE PRISON MY COUSIN IS IN! I WAS ALSO DIRECTED BY THE PAROLE BOARD TO SEND ALL 8 PARDON LETTERS FROM MY FAMILY ON BEHALF OF MY COUSIN STRAIGHT TO LITTLE ROCK PAROLE BOARD INSTEAD OF THE DELTA IPO. HE IS CURRENTLY SERVING FOR A DRUG CHARGE. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME DEALING WITH ALL OF THIS STUFF, AND HE HAS NO ONE ELSE. CAN SOMEONE ELSE GIVE ME SOME INPUT AS TO WHEN HE MIGHT BE SEEING THE BOARD? THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-12-2017, 08:59 PM
AR PCS's Avatar
AR PCS AR PCS is offline
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 32
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

The Parole Boards hearing schedule site is not working and has been broke for a while. If you call the parole board they can tell you the hearing date. Better to send the letters directly to the parole board so you can make sure they get in the file, you can ask if they have received them when you call. All the IRO does is scan them to the file so the parole board can review them, teh parole board will scan them to the file when they receive them.

Hope this helps. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AR PCS For This Useful Post:
patchouli (02-13-2017), Tina (02-13-2017)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So you're going to prison....a guide for friends/family/soon-to-be inmates? ORFaithful Oregon General Prison Talk, Introductions & Chit Chat 0 09-21-2010 10:03 AM
Family and Friends of NH Inmates.... pmitch10 NEW HAMPSHIRE Prison & Criminal Justice Discussions 0 06-25-2010 07:17 AM
A Guide for Families and Friends of Texas Inmates (book) TXDoll3 Texas Prison and Jail Visitation, Phones, Packages & Mail 17 04-20-2008 08:08 PM
WA DOC Inmate Friends and Family Guide Link JJT Washington Visitation, Phones, Packages & Mail 0 06-27-2005 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 PM.
Copyright © 2001- 2017 Prison Talk Online
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website Design & Custom vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media
Message Board Statistics