Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > MEDICAL & HEALTH > General Health Care
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Health Care Prison Health Care.. Medical, medications and all that go with it related to health care in the prison system...

Old 05-08-2007, 03:30 AM

Exclamation Help? Proper Medical Care?

My friend is in the MSP. He had been in Boot Camp up til 2weeks ago. I found out he had been having seizures off and on the past month. He was well liked by staff and was within 1 month of completing the program. Now because of the seizure issues, he cant go back.

I am a Registered Nurse, as such I know when something requires more in depth care and how fast it needs looked into. Well now my friend has weakness and numbess specific to his right side only. The doctors at the prison and local hospital supposedly ruled out a stroke. Now my friend is back in intake until they figure out what they are going to do with him. I talked to a case worker that indicated that it could be almost July before my friend could get out. And he was I month from prerelease before all this happend.

So now my friend is sitting in intake since last week. He says that he hasnt seen a doctor since let out of the infirmary last week either. No physical therapy was prescibed to deal with his weakness, paralysis. He is locked up for 23 hours each day. His mom called who she knew in the state offices. She told me just to let the system work. She says that he will get proper care.

I have concerns to when and if he will see a neurologist. He was in top physical shape to go to Boot Camp, now he has weakness and paralysis. I dont want to make waves or slow down the process of his relaase or whatever. What should I do?

Last edited by 2nmb2think; 05-08-2007 at 03:32 AM..
Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-2007, 11:13 AM