Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > U.S. REGIONAL FORUMS > PENNSYLVANIA > Pennsylvania Parole, Probation, Work Release, Halfway Houses & Community Service
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Pennsylvania Parole, Probation, Work Release, Halfway Houses & Community Service All information relating to parole, probation, halfway houses, community service and electronic monitoring in Pennsylvania should be posted here.

Old 08-31-2018, 08:20 PM

Default Probation Violation for leaving state without permission

Hello, this is my first time on PT. I was gonna join last year but my hubby got out! He was almost out for a year, and he was doing amazing.
Last week he was picked up on some unpaid traffic fines. The judge was going to release him, but saw his po put a pernanent detainer on him. I went in today and paid his fines thinking it was only for that. Well, I had my first visit with him later on in the day. He has a probation violation for leaving the state without permission. He has his Gagman hearing on Tuesday. Iím pregnant and we donít want him missing out on the pregnancy. What can I do to bring him home early? How much time is he looking at?
Sponsored Links
Old 09-02-2018, 06:39 AM

PTO Moderator 

Thanked 2,322 Times in 1,276 Posts

It sounds like he had his Gagnon I hearing, which is to determine if there are grounds for revocation. The next step is the Gagnon II hearing, at which time they determine if there's been a violation and, if so, what sanction should be imposed.

A lot depends on whether he was under state or county supervision. In county cases, the sentencing court makes these decisions; in state cases, the PBPP makes the decisions.