Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > U.S. REGIONAL FORUMS > CALIFORNIA > California Parole, Probation & Release
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

California Parole, Probation & Release All information & questions relating to parole, probation or release in California should be posted here.

Old 05-12-2018, 11:57 PM

Default California Parole Suitability Hearings

Parole Suitability Hearings. Can someone please explain to me what does this exactly means? What happens during these kind of hearings. I am new to all this and I know it sounds ignorant from my part, but I would like to understand and know more about it. I did try to look around but, none explaining. Thank you in advance.
Sponsored Links
Old 05-13-2018, 12:09 AM
Off-Paper Since 2009
Donation Award 

Thanked 3,094 Times in 1,198 Posts

Judging based off a quick Google search, it appears to be California's version of what we call "Pre-Board" here in Idaho.

It's basically a hearing that takes place a couple months in advance of one's regular parole hearing date, where a small panel (just one or two hearing officers) make a recommendation that goes before the full parole board for final say.

Here in Idaho, most non-violent offenders never see the full parole board in person -- they just interview with a "Pre-Board" hearing officer, who prepares a report where their paperwork gets sent on to the full parole board in absentia for quick review and rubber stamp -- the hearing officer's recommendation, whether to grant or deny parole, is usually followed.
Old 05-13-2018, 01:31 AM
Site Moderator Gone Mad

Staff Superstar Winner PTO Site Moderator 

Thanked 19,386 Times in 6,953 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mz_Morena View Post