Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > FOR FAMILY & FRIENDS > Extended Family
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Extended Family For the grandparents, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews and cousins of inmates.

Old 05-12-2014, 09:03 PM
Advice seeker

Default Advice needed-adoptive family starting on the right foot

DISCLAIMER: I know nearly nothing about the prison system, after only being arrested briefly for a protest. I'm a young professional hospitality industry executive, my wife is a Ph.D. We have known the grip of poverty, family disowning us, the ugliness of family divorce, and many other down's of life. Luckily for us, there are many more up's that keep us focused on the future, and we are thankful for our good karma, and people who love us, unconditionally.

My wife and I are considering taking in a 21 year old who we have known for nearly 8 years, to allow her to re-start again. She's a brilliant young woman, who we both have treated as our adopted daughter. When things got rough with her family, she moved in with us for about a year. We helped her with budgets, planning, resume's, job's etc. Empowering and developing is what I do professionally, She had up's and down's and eventually moved away, only to be caught back in the spiral of drugs, violence, and alcohol about a year later.